How the Council is run

Tandridge District Council has 42 councillors (representing 20 wards) elected to look after the interests of the district. The political balance of the Council is 16 Conservatives, 13 Independents and OLRG Alliance, 11 Liberal Democrats, and 2 Independent Group councillors.


There are ten main committees which councillors attend. These carry out the detailed business of the council. Council agendas and minutes are published online.

They are also available at our offices and local libraries.

Council constitution

The Council's constitution sets out:

  • How the Council operates
  • Standing orders for meetings and general governance
  • Financial regulations
  • Contract standing orders
  • Delegation of powers to committees and officers
  • Various codes, schemes and protocols

Councillors’ allowances

All councillors receive a taxable allowance of £4129. If they are the Leader of the Council, a group leader, a chairman or vice chairman of committee, they will also get a special responsibility allowance. Expenses for travel and subsistence can also be claimed and receipts must be provided for these.

The amount paid to each councillor varies according to the number of meetings attended and whether they were elected members for a full year.

Details of councillors’ allowances are published annually.