Skip to content
Home page
Site map
A-Z of services
Feedback form
List of access keys

Advertising policy

Councillors & committees

Tandridge District Council has 42 councillors elected to look after the interests of the district as a whole and their local community. The current political balance is 35 Conservatives, 6 Liberal Democrats and 1 Independent representing 20 wards and the Council is run by a Conservative administration. Each ward has one or more councillors. Councillors are not paid for the work they do, but they can claim an allowance. Details of their expenses are published each year - councillors allowances


District elections are usually held every three years out of four, at which a third of councillors are elected. In the fourth year the County Council elections are held. 


Councillors are appointed to a number of committees and sub-committees. They also represent the Council on many local organisations.

Eight main committees carry out the detailed business of the authority. They can either resolve certain matters or make recommendations to full Council. The Committees and their main functions are listed below:

  • Community Services - refuse & recycling collection, environmental health, leisure, parks & open spaces,  regulation of taxis, public toilets, street cleaning and other amenity services.
  • Housing - council housing; private sector housing conditions, provision of affordable housing and certain community care functions.
  • Licensing - determination of applications for licences relating to entertainment, sale of alcohol, gambling, street collections and certain other activities.
  • Overview & Scrutiny - consideration of audit reports, performance monitoring and scrutinising the Tandridge Community Safety Partnership.
  • Planning - determination of planning applications and enforcement action in response to breaches of development control. 
  • Planning Policy - preparation and review of Local Development Documents and other aspects of planning policy to influence and control the development and use of land. 
  • Resources - financial, risk management and IT strategies, governance regimes, asset management, staffing issues and electoral matters. 
  • Standards - councillors' code of conduct.

All meetings are usually held at the Council Offices, Oxted from 7.30pm. Copies of agendas are also available from the Council Offices or local libraries, or online agendas & minutes.

Members of the public are welcome to attend Committee and Council meetings. There are special arrangments for residents wishing to speak at Planning Committees in respect of particular planning applications. Members of the Public can also aks questions and present petitions at other Committees or Council meetings.

Leader of the Council

The Council has a Leader, a councillor from the majority party or administration, who acts as principal spokesperson on Council issues and policies and works closely with the Chief Executive.

Chairman and Vice-Chairman of the Council

During the Annual Meeting of the Council in May, the Chairman of the Council and Vice Chairman are appointed for the year.

The Chairman represents the Council at local community events and outside functions.

Council Constitution

The Council's Constitution includes Standing Orders applicable to meetings and contracts; Financial Regulations; Terms of Reference of Committees; and delegated powers to Officers. It also contains various Council schemes and protocols, including those concerning Members' Allowances, Councillor Conduct and filming Council meetings.

Parish or village councils

All of Tandridge is covered by parish or village councils responsible for a variety of parish matters.

More information